TT Time

Several Walkers riders competed in TT rides over the past week. Six members competed in the annual Fullarton Wheelers’ Marymass 10m TT on Wednesday evening. As the entry field was so large the organisers brought the start time forward by 30 minutes to ensure all competitors finished in daylight.
In a tightly-contested event, Neil Walker finally achieved his target time of a below 21 minutes finish with a time of 20.48, taking 6th place overall. Charles Vincent finished 28th overall with a time of 22.28, while Tommy Gribbon achieved a new course personal best of 23.48.
Sandy Muir finished just ahead of Scott Russell with a time of 25.49, with Scott achieving a time of 25.51.
Catherine Logan finished on a time of 24.30 – a course personal best for her too – and was just beaten by 2 seconds by Lynne Wardrop from AYR RCC for 2nd lady.

Three days later, Catherine and Lynne teamed up with Toni MacIntosh, also from Ayr RCC, to form a women’s composite team in the Scottish National Team Time Trial – a 29 mile course run on the A78 and A71. Composite teams (teams with members from different clubs), were allowed to compete but would not be eligible for the championship medals. This meant that although the ladies were the fastest ladies team on the day with a time of 1 hr 08 mins 49 secs, the gold medal went to Sandy Wallace Cycles and the silver to Deeside Thistle team.
Catherine had a further excellent outing at the Sam Dooley Memorial TT on Sunday August 25th. With the weather conditions being almost perfect, both Catherine and clubmate Fiona Walker recorded personal bests over the 25 mile course at Westferry. Fiona completed the course as 7th Lady in 66minutes and 57 seconds, while Catherine’s 63mins 36 saw her take 5th Lady spot, only a couple of minutes off the 1st Lady’s time of 61.26.