Crossing the lines

Sunday saw the 4th round of the Ridley Bikes Scottish Cyclocross Series taking place in Strathclyde Park.  The course has a reputation for destroying bikes and bodies, and despite a complete re-working of the route, this years event lived up to it!  Another huge turnout (approaching 400 riders) took on the course in glorious sunshine, but near zero degree temperatures.  With a mixture of energy sapping mud, deep ditches to either jump or ride through, 3 tough climbs, and a long muddy run up, if the course didn’t damage your bike, it certainly damaged your legs!
In the V50 race, Robert Earp continued his strong showing, moving up from a difficult start to take 5th place.  Lorna Sloan rode a storming race to finish 2nd in the Veteran Womens, within 2 minutes of the race winner – by far her best performance of the season.  Paula Wilson had an unfortunate tumble on a slippery concrete bend and had to retire hurt.
In the Veteran 40’s race, Keith Johnson took part in his first race of the season (and first in the highly competitive veterans category), placing a creditable 18th, with Scott Russell taking 25th.
The Senior Men’s race saw the largest Walkers Cycling Club contingent, with 6 starters, but unfortunately only 3 finishers, with Scott Kerr, Darren Ridout and Ali Turner all succumbing to mechanicals as the course deteriorated.  Charles Vincent was taking part in his first SCX race in a couple of years, and first competitive outing since completing the 3 Peaks Cyclocross race in September, and nursed his bike round to 28th place.  John McCracken finished in 49th place.  Neil Walker had a strong race, moving up from 9th place with 3 laps remaining, to finish in 5th place with the 2nd fastest final lap of the race.
Walkers Cycling Club Provisional Results
Veteran 50’s – Robert Earp 5th
Veteran Women – Lorna Sloan 2nd, Paula Wilson DNF
Senior Women – Anna Walker 10th, Fiona Walker 12th
Veteran 40’s – Keith Johnson 18th, Scott Russell 25th
Senior Men – Neil Walker 5th, Charles Vincent 28th, John McCracken 49th, Scott Kerr DNF, Darren Ridout DNF, Ali Turner DNF
The next round of the series is November 24th at Irvine Beachpark, promoted by Walkers Cycling Club.  Pre-entries close on Tuesday 19th.