All hail the Champion

Congratulations to David Baird who is the club’s TT champion for 2015.

David, of Galston, made best use of his local knowledge to finish first in the final event of six in this year’s club confined race series.

The hill climb leg at Darvel last Tuesday earned him enough points to take the title from Brian McCutcheon with the injured Ian McAlindon in third. Points are totalled from each entrant’s best four scoring rounds in a series of time trials staged between March and September.

In last week’s finale, nine riders tackled the Darvel mast ascent from Priestland, a two mile course with some very steep ramps.

Times were: David Baird 00:08:54, Neil Walker 00:09:10, Ian Anderson 00:09:45, Midge Gaskin 00:10:00, Brian McCutcheon 00:10:29, Lorna Todd 00:11:15, Fraser Bell 00:11:28, Bill Gerrie 00:12:18, David Kaminski 00:13:35.

Final points table (from best four scoring rounds): David Baird 175, Brian McCutcheon 168, Ian McAlindon 154, Frazer Bell 138, Alan Gaskin 125, Ian Anderson 123, Alan Waddington 118,

Jim Goldie 110, David Kaminski 90, Neil Walker 86, Craig Mitchell 85, Lorna Sloan 76, Lorna Todd 70, Ciaran Kirkpatrick 64, Calum Ridout 54, Tim Dyer 50, Bill Gerrie 46, David McLaughlin 34,

Fiona Walker 30, Tremayne Hodge 30, Bryce Gillan 28, Scott Kerr 28, Joe Doherty 26, Alyn Aitchison 24, Jim Raeside 22, Jordan Lyon 20, Keith Johnson 20, John Walker 20, Simon Porter 18,

Sandy Muir 17, Barry Garner 17, Andy Mitchell 10, Colin Davis 10, Rupert Vidion 10.

David sporting a fabulous race face.
David sporting a fabulous race face.

In other news, Bishopton and the familiar A8 ‘Westferry’ time trial route was again the site of some hotly contested road racing on Sunday morning with the last open 25 mile event of 2015.

The Sam Dooley memorial 25, hosted by Johnstone Wheelers CC, was blessed with dry warm weather, however a moderate to fresh breeze from the Clyde made hard work of the run towards Port Glasgow.

Four riders from Walkers CC started, but Frazer Bell pulled out because of illness after the first lap. David Baird was again the fastest Walkers competitor, recording a fast 57 minutes and 16 minutes. Ian Anderson came in five minutes slower at 1:02:07 with Catherine Logan achieving a great time of 1:05:44.

Only one rider from Walkers was racing in the Georgetown Cup competition at Inchinnan on Saturday, Colin Davis managing a respectable 19.47.