Making tracks

Walkers Cycling Club marked a very special weekend with three events.

Saturday’s traditional morning run was a typical 50-miler to the coast but riders followed it up with a get-together over coffee and cake in the Walkers Cycling shop in Kilmaurs which had become the club’s unofficial home.

Members from various sections gathered at Walkers Cycling to recognise the important part the business had played in establishing the club over the past decade. In the space of a few years the village-based club had built up a membership of over 150 cycling fans.

Owners John and Susan Walker are now looking forward to a belated retirement while son, and shop manager, Neil Walker has become a director with a national bike distribution company.

The party atmosphere spilled over to Sunday when two dozen track enthusiasts from the club participated in a velo session at the Glasgow Commonwealth arena.

Cycle coach and club member Fiona Walker led fellow riders on a series of half-hour stints on the boards at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

More cycling action followed on the Monday when the club staged the fourth in its seven-round summer TT programme. The course was the 16-mile A77 there-and back run between the Galston road end and Newton Mearns.

Club TT specialist Ian Anderson took the win on overall time, but an impressive ride by Darren Ridout saw him score maximum points on handicap. With three events to come, it looks like a two-horse race between Ian and Chris Shields for the overall win, but Davie Robb, Midge Gaskin and Darren Ridout are very much in the frame when the best three results so far are taken into account.

Two-up competitors Fiona Wallace and club newcomer Rachael Mackie, on her first-ever time trial, smashed their one hour target by finishing on 53:56.

Actual times – Ian Anderson 36:29, Frazer Bell 38:13, Chris Shields 40:23, Lorna Todd 40:54, Davie Robb 40:59, Darren Ridout 41:57, Brian McCutcheon 42:02, Laura McFarlane 45:06, David Kaminski 46:30, John Lumley 46:46, Fiona/Rachael 53:56.

Points – Chris Shields 135, Ian Anderson 133, Davie Robb 88, Midge Gaskin 85, Darren Ridout 83, Laura McFarlane 80, David Kaminski 79, Marc Auchie 71, Frazer Bell 70, Lorna Todd 65, Simon Porter 62, Craig Mitchell 58, David Hamilton 57, Iain McAlindon 40, Matt Brown 39, Calum Ridout 24, John Lumley 22, Brian Kerr 20, Chris Hardy 19, Fiona Wallace 14, Stuart McLean 12, Alan Murray 10, Barry Garner 7, Harry McGarvie 6, John O’Donnell 5.