Special Events & quick link to regular ride details

Sunday September 24th: Kilmarnock Criterium

Spectators waiting to see some of the action at a cycle race will find that bikes are like buses – you see nothing for ages then a pile of them go thundering past.

That very common complaint by cycling fans can’t be levelled at the organisers of this weekend’s race series in Kilmarnock.

For the format of Sunday’s all-day event in Howard Park is criterium racing where competitors pedal in laps round a tight circuit closed to traffic.

Event promoter Fiona Walker said: “Criterium racing is fast and furious and, as riders complete several laps of a short circuit, it is a great spectacle for cycling fans. People are able to focus on the riders as they speed round and round the park.”

This will be the fourth staging of the race series since it was re-introduced in 2014 by Walkers Cycling Club after a 20-year break.

As well as the Scottish national series races for under 14s and under 16s there are support races for youth riders and adults.

In addition, many of the riders will use the event as a warm up for the Scottish Criterium Championships the following week.

The timetable for Sunday is: 10am U8, 10.20, U10, 10.40 U12, 11.10 U14, 12.00 U16 boys, 13.00 U16 girls/women, 14.00 4th cat, 15.00 E/1/2/3.

Competitors are asked to ride for a set time (from 10 mins right up to 50 mins f) then complete a specified number of laps (1 to 5).

Members of the public are invited to come to Howard Park and see some exciting bike racing – close up. Food and hot drinks will be on sale throughout the day.


Sunday October 8th:  Walkers CC are hosting the annual sand dance at Irvine Beach. As part of the SCX series, this event is hugely popular among cyclocrossers from  Scotland and beyond.  If you aren’t riding in the event, the organisers would welcome lots of pairs of hands to do the setting up, marshalling and taking down tasks.  There may be a reward of cake.

Link to entries: HERE


Regular Ride Details

To find details of our regular club rides, click HERE