Another year, another AGM

Walkers CC held its AGM recently in the Park Hotel Kilmarnock.  Chairperson Davie Robb started the evening by taking a look back at the year’s events, and concluded that the vast and varied list of activities was an indication of a good and enthusiastic club.

Events ranged from the routine club rides, to individual challenges, to charity events, to social events and culminating in the three national events run by the club which have grown in popularity over the past few years.

Davie thanked everyone who contributed in any way to the successful running of the club.

The evening’s business also saw  the addition of three new members to the committee.  Gordon Woodward-Clark takes over the Treasurer’s role while Barry Garner and Ian Anderson will, respectively, provide some mountain biking and road racing input.

Davie Robb has a further year to run as Chair, Fiona Walker continues as Secretary and Mark Ward, who has been proving the doubters wrong about men and their ability to multi-task, will revert to being Membership Secretary again.

The evening concluded with the annual prizegiving where three awards were given this year.  One trophy went to Midge Gaskin, to the left in the picture,  as winner of the club’s own summer TT series – a seven-event handicap competition which attracted 30 entries. Second placed this year was Ian Anderson and third placed was Chris Shields.

The other two trophy winners were Simon Porter and junior member Rachael Mackie, both of whom were honoured for making significant improvement during 2017.   WCC awards 2017 - Oct